Central American countries

Central America is made up of 7 countries.

American wreath

Central America is a long and narrow strip of land that unites two giants: North America and South America. Between Mexico, to the north, and Colombia, to the south, seven countries are aligned: Guatemala, Belize, El Salvador, Honduras, Nicaragua, Costa Rica and Panama.

Violent tropics

Central America is a mountainous region. It is also dangerous, as it has dozens of active volcanoes and is frequently shaken by earthquakes. In this region of the world, located under the tropics, sugar cane, corn, bananas, citrus fruits and coffee are produced.

The Panama canal

For centuries, ships had to circle America to go from the Atlantic Ocean to the Pacific Ocean. In order to avoid this, a canal was built on the Isthmus of Panama. The first ship crossed the canal more than a hundred years ago, in 1913.


Isthmus: it is a narrow strip of land, located between two seas, like Panama.

américa central


Leave a Reply